top of page

Who We Are & What We Do

SAPLA Logo Final (12).png

SAPLA brings together pre-law advisors and law school admissions staff to provide everyone in the law school admissions process with up-to-date information and expert guidance.

Our Misson

Our Mission

SAPLA Logo Final (12).png

To facilitate communications of interest among pre-law advisors with various academic institutions of higher education in the Southern region of the United States.

To increase the lines of communication between the Association’s members and individual law school officers, the Law School Admissions Council and other law-related organizations.

To provide resource materials to and to improve skills and knowledge of persons involved in advising pre-law students for the benefit of the students, the law schools and the legal profession.

PLANC

Pre-Law Advisors National Council (PLANC)

SAPLA Logo Final (12).png
pre law advisors national council logo (PLANC)

The Pre-Law Advisors National Council, or PLANC, is a national coordinating body bringing together leadership from the six regional pre-law advisors associations (APLAs) and select partner organizations to advance the pre-law advising profession and to enhance the delivery of pre-law services to students. The Board of Directors meets bi-annually and PLANC sponsors a national conference during U.S. Presidential election years.

A group of 3 people in professional clothes speak together in a networking event.

Regional Associations

PLANC- Pre-Law Advisors National Council

MAPLA- Midwest Association of Pre-Law Advisors

NAPLA- Northeast Association of Pre-Law Advisors

SWAPLA- SouthWest Association of Pre-Law Advisors

WAPLA- Western Association of Pre-Law Advisors

PCAPLA - Pacific Coast Association of Pre-Law Advisors

Man in suit with dark brown skin shakes hand of woman with white skin at a networking event.
SAPLA Officers

Meet our Officers

SAPLA Logo Final (12).png
Maya Russell, SAPLA President-Elect Headshot
Marcya Burden, SAPLA Vice President Headshot
Patrice Barley Headshot

Maya Russell 

President

Furman University

maya.russell@furman.edu

864.294.3053

Marcya Burden 

President-Elect

Oakwood University 

mburden@oakwood.edu

256-726-8371

Patrice Barley

Vice President

Duke University

patrice.barley@duke.edu

(919) 684-2865

Issa Disciullo Headshot
Sharletta DunlapHeadshot
Darren Kettles, SAPLA Communications Director, Headshot

Issa DiSciullo

Treasurer

William & Mary Law School

mdisciullo@wm.edu
(757) 221-4565

Sharleeta Dunlap

Secretary

UDC David A. Clark School of Law

sharleeta.dunlap@udc.edu

(202) 274-7341

Darren Kettles 

Communications Director

Stetson University College of Law

dkettles@law.stetson.edu

727-562-7368

Marc Reese, SAPLA Diversity Director, Headshot
Carol Riddock Headshot
Tammy Laughlin Headshot

Marc Reece 

Diversity Director 

Atlanta's John Marshall Law School

Carol Riddock

Pre-Law Advisor Rep. at Large 

Emory University

carol.c.riddock@emory.edu

404-727-6211

Tammy Laughlin

Pre-Law Advisor Rep. at Large 

Tuskegee University

tlaughlin@tuskegee.edu
334-724-8477

Karen Britton Headshot

Karen Britton

Law School Representative 

University of South Carolina School of Law

Amy Mangione Headshot

Amy Mangione

Law School Representative 

University of Richmond School of Law

amy.mangione@richmond.edu

804-289-8191

Mark Brown, SAPLA President Headshot

Mark Brown

Immediate Past President

University of South Carolina

brownms@mailbox.sc.edu

(803) 777-5579

bottom of page